Google adds a Safety Mode to YouTube
Google has added a new feature to their video sharing service YouTube.
YouTube Safety Mode enables you to turn on censoring of videos that might be offensive in nature.
This mode is however specific to browser and cannot be applied permanently to an account.
It would work on the browser for as long as it is kept on no matter who is logged in through a YouTube account.
Safety Mode gives users the option to choose not to see mature content that they may find find offensive, even though it’s not against our Community Guidelines. When you opt in to Safety Mode mode, videos with mature content or that have been age restricted will not show up in video search, related videos, playlists, shows and movies. While no filter is 100% accurate, we use community flagging, hide objectionable comments and porn image detection to identify and hide inappropriate content. Safety Mode on YouTube does not remove content from the site but rather keeps it off the page for users who opt in.