Netflix to delete user viewing history after one year of service disconnection

Netflix to delete user viewing history after one year of service disconnection

Netflix has announced as part of a lawsuit settlement that they would delete viewing history and other data connected to a user account after one year of service disconnection.

The company faced a lawsuit complaining that they maintained archives of all the viewings and rental data connected to user accounts even when the customer disconnects his account.

This became sort of a privacy nightmare for the company and this new policy should help their cause.

Netflix uses this data to improve recommendations on their platform.

Leave a Reply