How to disable the awesome Facebook (Like) Experience

How to disable the awesome Facebook (Like) Experience

Facebook has just launched a mega initiative to take over the internet!

The company aims to make the web a more social place and they have released a couple of tools for publishers to integrate the social element more deeply on their websites. You can see one of the tools above (The like button!).

The problem? Everything is linked back to Facebook.

You might now find yourself logged into one of these services on a third party website. If you decide to participate, it becomes part of your Facebook profile.

There is no guarantee if this data is private and could not be misused. It is hard to escape it all if you want to stay connected to your friends on Facebook.

But you can take a series of steps to ensure that your privacy is a little bit more secured!

One of the steps you can take is as following:

Account -> Privacy Settings -> Applications and Websites -> Instant Personalization -> off

In fact, go through all the settings here:

Account -> Privacy Settings -> Applications and Websites

And do the needful. This makes the situation little bit better.

Leave a Reply