Google Translate now support 80 languages including Punjabi now!

Google has added a bunch of new languages to their Google Translate platform. The service now support as many as 80 new languages.

Nine new languages were added this week:

Hausa (Harshen Hausa), spoken in Nigeria and neighboring countries with 35 million native speakers
Igbo (Asụsụ Igbo) spoken in Nigeria with 25 million native speakers
Yoruba (èdè Yorùbá) spoken in Nigeria and neighboring countries with 28 million native speakers
Somali (Af-Soomaali) spoken in Somalia and other countries around the Horn of Africa with 17 million native speakers
Zulu (isiZulu) spoken in South Africa and other south-western African countries with 10 million native speakers
Mongolian (Монгол хэл), official language in Mongolia and also spoken in parts of China with 6 million native speakers
Nepali (नेपाली), spoken in Nepal and India with 17 million native speakers
Punjabi language (ਪੰਜਾਬੀ) (Gurmukhi script), spoken in India and Pakistan with 100 million native speakers
Maori (Te Reo Māori), spoken in New Zealand with 160 thousand speakers

Google is also asking speakers of obscure languages to contribute to the platform by submitting data about it. Google said:

Although Google Translate is an automatic tool, a new language sometimes needs a little love from native speakers to get off the ground. You can help launch your language by volunteering to help us gather and translate texts in your language. Sign up with this form. We’re also constantly fine-tuning our translations. You can help with these efforts by clicking the translated text and editing it to be correct.

Leave a Reply