Google Buzz data to get migrated to Google Drive as it nears its end

Google has now revealed how they plan to shut down Buzz and remove it from their platform completely.

Google would be migrating data on all active accounts to two files that would be stored on user’s Drive.

One of these files would be completely private in nature containing all your shared content on the platform.

The second file would contain all your public data. It would be open the web and accessible to anyone who has a link to it.

Google added:

Any comments you made on other users’ posts will only be saved to those users’ files and not to yours. Once the change described in this email is final, only that user will be able to change the sharing settings of those files. This means that if you have commented on another author’s private post, that author could choose to make that post and its comments public. If you would like to avoid that possibility, delete all your Buzz content now.
The new Google Drive files will only contain comments from users that previously enabled Google Buzz, and the files will not contain comments that were deleted prior to moving the data to your Google Drive.

You can decide what you want to do with your Google Buzz account here.

Leave a Reply